Skip to main content


Click here for more coverage of the LFT 50th Anniversary!

Speaking to more than 200 delegates and guests at the Louisiana Federation of Teachers’ 50th Annual Convention, LFT President Steve Monaghan called for reclaiming the promise of public education and returning the joy to teaching and learning.


In a rousing keynote address to more than 200 convention delegates and guests, American Federation of Teachers President Randi Weingarten declared the union’s political action essential to the future of public education.


(Baton Rouge – November 24, 2014) Four Louisiana journalists and researchers were recognized by the Louisiana Federation of Teachers today for their coverage of education issues in the state. The School Bell Award for Excellence in Education Journalism is presented to writers for outstanding efforts in promoting better understanding of education issues.


(Baton Rouge – November 24, 2014) Former Louisiana Federation of Teachers Presidents Dr. William Savage, Carrel Epling and Fred Skelton today received Pioneer Awards from the Louisiana Federation of Teachers. The award is presented annually to individuals who, over the years, made major contributions to the growth and influence of the LFT.


Six local chapters of the Louisiana Federation of Teachers received the Union Values in Action Award for improving the lives of members, enhancing the influence of the union and advancing the mission of public education.

This convention marked the eighth year that Union Values Awards have been given to LFT local chapters. The award recognizes the efforts of local LFT chapters to promote the union agenda and express commitment to the values that make the Federation the largest professional organization for teachers and school employees in Louisiana.


LFT President Steve Monaghan was re-elected as president of the LFT for a three-year term at the LFT’s 50th annual convention on Monday, November 24.